The state of Arunachal Pradesh is geographically the biggest state in North Eastern region covering the area of 83,743 Sq.Km. consisting of 17 districts and having a population of 10,91,117 (2001cencus). The Public Works Department is one of the leading agency implementing various developmental activities and committed to socio-economic upliftment of the people. The department consist of Sevenen zones, each headed by one Chief Engineer. The Seven zonal offices are located at capital city of Itanagar Viz Western Zone, Central Zone, Eastern Zone, Survey & Investigation, Design & Planning, Highways Eastern Zone & Highways Western Zone.